Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Benevolent Dictator
Joined
·
9,222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was playing a game of HE vs. DE yesterday and ran into a strange problem. The Dark Elf 'Hatred' allows them to reroll failed "to hit" rolls. However, my High Elf item forced the opponent to reroll successful hits. We aren't sure that we figured this one out.

We decided via dice that it should go to my suggestion: playing it so that the darkelf had to pick up all the dice (Hits and Misses) and reroll them. This causes the two items to cancel eachother out however.

He suggested that we do it in 2 phases however:
Reroll SUCCESSFUL hits first, via the pendant
then reroll ALL generated fails together for Hatred.

I disagreed with his method for 2 reasons- First, it would be in his benefit to play it that way or in my benefit to flip the order of rolls, and Second, it would cause us to reroll a reroll.

How would you have done it??
 

·
i am da Wahhchief
Joined
·
2,419 Posts
i think your way does not only make sense, its the only way you can interpret it.


it doesnt make sense to do one kind of reroll first and another later, what was his reasoning behind this???

whatever you choose to do, you must allways obey the rule that rerolls may not be re-rolled


Anyway, if you use both abilities, you end up rolling to hit and then re roll all dice, did he mention why he didnt like this way?
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
4,361 Posts
You did it correctly. Basically the first rolls don't mean anything. All dice are rerolled and the second roll stands.

This is actually addressed specifically in the wood elf FAQ for daith's reaper. So if he needs confirmation, have him check it out.

SirKently
 

·
Benevolent Dictator
Joined
·
9,222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sirkently- thank you for the help. I just read the Daith's Reaper faq and it does make sense. You would think that they would have an FAQ for the BRB itself, to cover catch-alls like that.

Digger- had we done it his way, he would have still benefited from Hatred. If he rerolled successful hits and they turned into misses, he would then have a chance to reroll ALL the dice back into successful hits.
 

·
Airborne
Joined
·
1,664 Posts
Alternativley you can agree with your opponent to not re-roll anything and accept the initial result. The end is the same a re-rolling everything and most players thoroughly dislike the tedium of re-rolling every dice, so will usually agree to this.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top