Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, Im sorta really new to Warhammer, ive been playing on and off with a friend for the last 4 years (i havent posted since 2010) and now we're returning to the game and we have a new friend whos playing with us. Currently I dont really have a set army list. I have 3 or 4 squads of cadian shock troops, 1 sentinel, 1 heavy weapons team and a command squad. The HW team is a part of the command squad and has been using a auto-cannon. I am up against (for sure) a small army of orks with no heavy vehicles (just some small copters) and about 2 squads and a war boss. I am also up against space marines (I know there are terminators in that army) and our new friend has yet to decide between space wolves or chaos space marines. Orks are hardly fielded and none of the armies have any vehicles (for now). Points can go anywhere from 1000 to 2000, probably not much bigger than 2000 points. Any help on what I can do or stuff to add to my army would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!!

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
The new 6th edition rules have changed a lot for guard.

Everything is better balanced now. The same old things work still but mech isn't quite so dominant and infantry lists are more viable.

The aegis line is a great option for IG armies. A blob of infantry can go to ground behind the wall for a 2+ cover save and then use orders (vox helps a lot) to "get back in the fight" and fight normally next turn. They also get a quad cannon that gives you some cover against fliers.

I think overall just take models that you like. I find you can build an army around pretty much anything, although there's some stand-out units in 6th ed:

Our fliers are ridiculously cheap since they're balanced as skimmers but when flying normally will now require 6s to be hit. They're really hard to kill.