Not if you use the New Assult Rules. MC's and IC's count as seperate units in close combat. Using rippers to blunt an enemy assult or to support a unit is a good idea, just not THAT good.Am I reading it correctly that in CC the rippers can absorb hits for the 'fex? "Shoot the Big Ones" and the TMC rules only discuss shooting, not CC. That seems to make my strategy even better since it will keep the 'fex alive for quite a while in CC.
BINGO!!! There is no point (outside of a Tyrant Guard brood). Although there is apparently a way to slingshot your carnifex across the board with gaunts under the new assult rules, I'm not sure how to do it.So what the hesk is the point of joining TMCs to a troop brood then? I just don't get it.