I was playing a game with a group of people who appeared to be fairly well versed in the rules of 40k and all their obscurity. So of course when they said i couldn't use my custom made scout sergeant with sniper rifle i was a bit taken aback and confused.
If you look at the wording it says ANY MEMBER of the squad can replace their weapons for a sniper rifle at +5 points. Well I had thought that the sergeant counted as a member of the squad.
Now, i can see the sense in a rule similar to this, for instance I would be surprised to see a tactical squad whose sergeant was holding a missle launcher. Also they used as supports examples such as devistators who would have a sergeant w/out heavy weapon as well as Long fangs who even more inflexible and require a sergeant w/out hvy weapons.
They also said this rule was in some chapter approved edition. But i will also add that these guys think 2 twin linked lascannons get 4 shots (for those who read the entertaining debate on that subject).
I don't suppose anyone could point me to a rule, or give an interpretation of the chapter approved rule that would let me keep my sergeant legal??
(convieniently they had forgotten to bring their chapter approved book so I never actually got to see this rule...)
If you look at the wording it says ANY MEMBER of the squad can replace their weapons for a sniper rifle at +5 points. Well I had thought that the sergeant counted as a member of the squad.
Now, i can see the sense in a rule similar to this, for instance I would be surprised to see a tactical squad whose sergeant was holding a missle launcher. Also they used as supports examples such as devistators who would have a sergeant w/out heavy weapon as well as Long fangs who even more inflexible and require a sergeant w/out hvy weapons.
They also said this rule was in some chapter approved edition. But i will also add that these guys think 2 twin linked lascannons get 4 shots (for those who read the entertaining debate on that subject).
I don't suppose anyone could point me to a rule, or give an interpretation of the chapter approved rule that would let me keep my sergeant legal??
(convieniently they had forgotten to bring their chapter approved book so I never actually got to see this rule...)