Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am really new to Tau and do not quite understand how shield drones really work.

1) Due to allocation of the amount of wounds (2 shield drones and one commander) lets us say there are 4 wounds I have to allocate wounds to 1 unit each and if I choose to then 2 wounds to 1 drone and then 1 wound each to the rest of my units.

2) In he case of a Flamer hitting the commander can the drone take the full hit of the flames and the commander take none?

3) in the case of failing the INV Sv does the drone then get an armour save as well?

·
The deep down truth
5,714 Posts
I am really new to Tau and do not quite understand how shield drones really work.

1) Due to allocation of the amount of wounds (2 shield drones and one commander) lets us say there are 4 wounds I have to allocate wounds to 1 unit each and if I choose to then 2 wounds to 1 drone and then 1 wound each to the rest of my units.
Ok: First rule to understand is that every model eligible to receive a wound (in range etc) must be allocated one wound before any model can be allocated a second wound.
Next thing is to understand that any model with different stat lines or with different equipment must roll its own saves for any wound allocated to it.
So if the Commander and two Drones were wounded 4 times (two lascannons and 2 Bolters) then this is how it would go.
The Commander is a unique model, it has different stats and different weapons to the Drones. The Drones are identical to each other.
You would allocate a wound to each model first. In this case you would allocate the two Lascannons to the Drones and a Bolter wound to the Commander, remember you have to allocate one wound to each model before a second wound can be allocated any of them.
In this example I will allocate the Bolter wounds to the Drones for simplicity.