Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This seems like a silly question, but a player at my store keps insisting that he is right. To my knowledge there is no official ruling on this, but a Von Carstein list army can raise Skeletons with crossbows. Since crossbows cannot move and shoot I assume that being raised (ie clawing your way out of the ground) counts as moving. He insists he can shoot the turn he raises. Any thoughts from anyone?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
947 Posts
This is a Games Workshop game rules discussion, leave all "should be" logic at the door please.

Now, to the actual question ^^

1. Nowhere is it stated that raising units counts as moving
2. The models weren't there in the Movement phase, so how could they have moved, apart from Vanhel's or such?

Logical conclusion from a strict rules viewpoint: Sylvanian Militia can shoot their crossbows on the turn they are raised, unless moved by magical means in the Magic Phase.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
106 Posts
yeah I think the consensus is that they can shoot but for obvious reasons it causes lots of debate. GW should seriously issue a ruling on this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,348 Posts
Yes they definitely can shoot the turn they are raised, for the reason that Teron said. How can they have moved if they weren't even around in the movement phase? Its impossible, so since they haven't moved they can shoot.

May seem strange from a logical point of view, but it is correct from the rules.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
947 Posts
Correct. They have moved and Crossbows are Move-or-Fire.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
301 Posts
EDIT: Never mind, i found the answer... Storm of chaos list. Please disregard my stupidity.

Mabey I'm just dence, (which is quite likely) but I don't see how skeletons can be raised, with a crossbow. Or for that matter, anything besides a close combat weapon / spear, and shield.

I can see that units of Sylvanian Levy can be purchased as crossbowmen for a Von Carstein list, but i don't belive Sylvanian Levy are counted as a unit of zombies, or skeletons.

Seeing as how Invocation of Nehek can only be cast on a unit of zombies, or a unit of skeltons ( for the purposes of reanimating non default equiped models), it dosn't appear that Sylvanian Levy are a valid target for the spell.

I appologise if this has alrady been dealt with and resolved in a previous thread, I'm refrerenciing from an old army book, or I'm just plain stupd.
 

·
/botnobot/
Joined
·
12,489 Posts
daedelus said:
EDIT: Never mind, i found the answer... Storm of chaos list. Please disregard my stupidity.

Mabey I'm just dence, (which is quite likely) but I don't see how skeletons can be raised, with a crossbow. Or for that matter, anything besides a close combat weapon / spear, and shield.

I can see that units of Sylvanian Levy can be purchased as crossbowmen for a Von Carstein list, but i don't belive Sylvanian Levy are counted as a unit of zombies, or skeletons.

Seeing as how Invocation of Nehek can only be cast on a unit of zombies, or a unit of skeltons ( for the purposes of reanimating non default equiped models), it dosn't appear that Sylvanian Levy are a valid target for the spell.

I appologise if this has alrady been dealt with and resolved in a previous thread, I'm refrerenciing from an old army book, or I'm just plain stupd.
Well, if you want to get down to it, it doesn't make sense that skeletons can be raised in the first place. If we accept that, then it still doesn't make sense that bodies, which have rotted away leaving only a skeleton behind, would somehow have a spear or handweapon handy. It's a matter of suspending our disbelief.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
301 Posts
DavidVC04 said:
Well, if you want to get down to it, it doesn't make sense that skeletons can be raised in the first place. If we accept that, then it still doesn't make sense that bodies, which have rotted away leaving only a skeleton behind, would somehow have a spear or handweapon handy. It's a matter of suspending our disbelief.
Yes well, thats pretty much requisite for this hobby.

I was simply confused as to the location of the rules. I appologise for my temporary lapse of sanity. I'd say it won't happen again, but I really, really can't make that promise.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top