1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Aliens ate my soul.
1,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.
I have 40 plastic Ork boys and 1 old style
Ork truck, all unpainted. I need to sell them to raise funds
for my new army. Should I sell them unpainted or painted?
I would say I am a decent painter and I’m quite good at painting Ork skin.
So should I spend the next week so painting them up or should I offer
them for sale unpainted?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Hi,

To give my 2cents worth of advice - it depends on your market.

At the club I play at, people tend to want to buy painted figures to get them on the table asap. But, my personal feelings is that I like to buy unpainted. Reason being is that I might be able to paint to a certain level, and if buying painted figures they are painted to a lesser or greater level of painting. They would look out of place without doing touchups. (I've recently repainted my entire 3000pts Chaos Space Marines as my painting level had improved since inital painting, and I bought 20-odd marines 2nd hand).

On the other hand, you could do best of both worlds. Advertise something that says figures for sale at a certain price unpainted. Can be painted for a negotiable fee.

That way if someone wants them painted up quick but doesn't have the time, you get more cash.

Reactions: Chubby_Jedi

·
Kut Maar Krachtig
4,014 Posts
I only ever buy unpainted models as i always have a strong idea of what i want with my army, so to me, selling unpainted is smarter.

·
/botnobot/
12,489 Posts
I've made decent money selling painted Wood Elves, especially as I got the models so cheap. But Andusciassus is right. Your money per hour of work will be ludicrously low. But nobody's going to pay full price for unpainted models. What would be the point? If you can do a nice job and get more than retail, then it might be worth it.

·
Librarian from Hell
4,133 Posts