Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy everyone. Recently proxied a Lizardmen army to try them out against a friend (cuz I have a Chaos army, now I'm looking for a "good guys" army) and had a question regarding the Slaan. According to his rules, if he's in a unit of TGs, he must be in the second rank (unless you don't have enough rank-n-files to make a front rank). How does this effect spell casting? I understand Hex, Augment, and Direct Damage spells do not require LoS and certain template spells do not require the template to start at the caster and can be cast fine, but Magic Missiles require direct LoS from the front arc. If the Slaan is indeed in the second rank, can it cast magic missiles at all or are those spells simply useless? We figured it would be true LoS for the model and it would see over top the TGs (following the rule about not being a model on foot even though it's labeled as Infantry), but played it out as if he couldn't for fairness sake. Can anyone clarify and provide a page reference if there is such thing for this? Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok so basically the Slaan can cast any and all spells from second rank except the template ones that start at the Slaan (because it would cover a friendly model in doing so).
 

·
RAWR! KROXIGOR!!
Joined
·
1,935 Posts
As far as I can see there are only 2 spells that have that situation of requiring friendly fire to cast from the 2nd rank, Purple Sun and Burning Head. By my reading of the rules Purple Sun is not a Direct Damage spell so may freely be cast on friendlies (there used to be a combo with the old VC book which banked on casting Purple Sun through friendly Zombies for PD to sustain multiple castings of Transformation of Kadon), however Burning Head would be illegal.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top