Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a sob player, but my friend uses them and his HQ is almost impossible to beat.

Using the Inquisitor, he says he can shoot something like str 7 ap2 blasts as well as attack with 15 power weapon attacks. Including a psychic power killing anything it wounds.

On defence, he can regenerate wounds as well as spread them out? Crazy invulnerable saves and ignores instant death?

Please, I would like to know if this Inquisitor retinue is really this strong(or my friend is cheating) because it seems a little unfair. I also would of heard of this before because it seems too good to be true.

Thanks for any help. A detailed explanation is the goal of this post.
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
4,529 Posts
It sounds like he's paid an abseloute fortune.. what an idiot. ;)

1. That is 1 S7 AP2 blast per turn.. BS4 so it misses 2 turns every game, and requires him to stand still. Small blast radius too.

2. 15 power weapon attacks mean little since they're S3.. Only 3 of them are going to wound vs marines. Also, I believe it's nigh impossible to achieve this without giving power weapons to the acolytes, and acolytes suck.

3. There is no psychic power which kills anything it wounds.. There is one which does not allow invulnerable saves.. It does allow some armour saves though.

4. He can't regenerate wounds.. at best, he can prevent one per turn even if it would cause instant death. This merely means you need to bring more firepower to bear on it in one turn, which, given the points cost, hardly seems a chore.

5. Acolytes can take wounds for the inquisitor, but not if the inquisitor uses his/her armour save. This means that either he has a bunch of amazingly expensive acolytes (in which case, all the more reason to shoot them) or they're going to die like screaming monkeys, leaving the inquisitor unprotected.

6. The maximum invulnerable save an inquisitor can achieve is 4+.. Good, but not monstrous.

7. Did he mention a transport option, if not, then this squad is never even going to see CC if you're good. Just shoot it down at long range..

CC Inquisitors are widely believed to be not worth the points, and that may well be correct. No better time to find out. :) Read your opponents codex before playing though to make sure he can't dupe you.. If he tries to claim his stuff is this good, inform him otherwise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
188 Posts
Witch Hunter Inqisitors tend to do a bit better than most at CC, I hear. And He can get all those power weapon attacks etc... but this unit must be costing him a damn fortune in points.

Also, if the psychic power that kills anything it wounds you are reffering to is the use of a Force Weapon, then yes, if he wounds and then makes a psychic test, whatever he stabbed goes pop. However - this counts as his psychic power use for the turn, so he cannot use any other psychic powers that turn.

I'm not so sure about this regenerating business, though he can give wounds to his acolytes - but only before he tries to save against them.

It's never a bad idea to ask him to show you in the codex how he's constructed the unit.
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
He sure makes them sound as impressive as possible. Some of the claims he makes seem rather dodgy and I would force him to show you where he gets those rules from.

For example, psykic powers which kill instantly just doesn't exist in the codex but there is a force weapon as mentioned and also regenerating wounds? well it's explained earlier by mantis.

As much as he tries to make them sound high and mighty they just arn't. They can be but it will cost and thats a cost not worth paying if you have any mind at ll IMO :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
212 Posts
Just borrow his Codex and read about the inquisitor retinue, you will see that everything has a price. If he doesn't have the Codex, don't play against him. Everybody should have their armys Codex.

If he makes a retinue that shoots Plasma Cannon (heavy weapon) ASWELL as having 15 PW attacks (wants assult) he's really unfocused, and throwing massive amounts off points in the trash.
As stated above, the PW attacks are not that mighty, and the Force Weapon is overpriced to be on a S3 modell.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
while i am famous in this forum for disagreeing on this point (as well as flamers....hmmm flamers) the abilities ya describe are simply not possible, like others have sed get im to show you list and dex cus i have tried but the closest thing i got to that is 14 power weapon attacks unless i give my acolytes power weapons but i rarely do that as i would have to lose the power armour on them and that reduces their effectivness (they are there as extra wounds and shouldn't be counted on to do damage)

the plasma cannon is a complete waste on a cc inquis as it's a heavy wep and can't be fired on the move. also remember that he can only get 3 of each. and a plasma cannon is 0-1
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
hmmmm If you check you can actually get 22 power weapon attacks in.

Three attacks per acolyte, three per crusader and four for the inquisitor on the charge. If you don't include the charge it's 15 attacks. :/ Though It's a nice number of power weapon attacks it's not really worth it, you pay 16pts for an eldar banshee but end up paying 20 for a crusader and 18 for an acolyte. Needless to say we all know which is better :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
i don't use acolytes with power weapons and a inquis has 3 att base so with power wep and pistol has 5 on charge.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
177 Posts
Using the Inquisitor, he says he can shoot something like str 7 ap2 blasts as well as attack with 15 power weapon attacks. Including a psychic power killing anything it wounds.

On defence, he can regenerate wounds as well as spread them out? Crazy invulnerable saves and ignores instant death?
Jeez, where can i get me one of those HQ's. Prolly gets is all for just 10 Pts as well. :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
it is possible but in the end will cost him 300 + and that is waayyy too much to spend on a non-chaos character.

i like =][= lords cus of the ironwill see unlike a canoness they can choose to pass or fail their tests and in the end can be better equiped with a better ret
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
quite possible

The Incubi said:
I am not a sob player, but my friend uses them and his HQ is almost impossible to beat.

Using the Inquisitor, he says he can shoot something like str 7 ap2 blasts as well as attack with 15 power weapon attacks. Including a psychic power killing anything it wounds.

On defence, he can regenerate wounds as well as spread them out? Crazy invulnerable saves and ignores instant death?

Please, I would like to know if this Inquisitor retinue is really this strong(or my friend is cheating) because it seems a little unfair. I also would of heard of this before because it seems too good to be true.

Thanks for any help. A detailed explanation is the goal of this post.
well str 7 ap2 blasts is just a plasma cannon, the retinue cn take 1.
as for power weapons, the crusader henchman gets 2 attacks and a 4+ inv sv
acolytes can get power weapons with 2 attacks each as well. the acolyte can also take(or spread) some wounds from the inq.
so assuming you keep the plasma cannon, 2 crusaders with 3 acolytes is 10 attacks without charging.
a number of WH psychic attacks cause damage but not without saves. see hammer of the witches, purgatus, and scourging
the churigeon lets the inq ignore(not regenerate) the first wound each turn, a second includes instant death wounds.

so no it's not impossible and would only require 8 henchmen @ ~150pts
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Ah, thank you for the advice, it doesn't seem as immortal is it was sought to be.

To beat this Hq I'm planning on using a chaos army, so I thought my daemon prince was to be wiped by my good friend.

I have read his chaos but the wording can get tricky and he is quite the cunning fellow.

The s3 power weapon thing assures me though.

Thanks guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
648 Posts
I'm sure you heard of how its not possible and all and how your friend is a freaking liar lol.
The realistic version means his henchmen are taking saves....

oh and they're all t3 so that daemon prince should work. If not pick up some Slannesh with warp scream or something (I forget but I know you attack first with this ability) and sick em.

Inquisitors are overated....at most they're imperial guard with S3 power weapons and invulnerable saves....they're still just human.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
warp scream is -1 to the opponenets initiative, the banshee mask strikes first but thats an eldar thing
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
You don't need a Daemon Prince to kill an inquisital unit. A regular equipped squad of Chaos Marines rapid firing into the unit will be all that is need. Eg

9 Chaos Marines: 2 Plasmaguns
1 Aspiring Champion: Plasma Pistol, Powerfist
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
first off no one sed that they did

second that squad would not worry me all that much as my =][='s have walked away from worse. =][='s are an iffy unit cus you either have an inconceivablly good amount of luck with them that turns em into an uber squad of death or ya canted use em and they crash and burn :sleep: , i fall into the first and i beleive rather firmly that if ya gave them a proper go you will too.

but getting off topic so endo ranto
 

·
The Fallen
Joined
·
7,745 Posts
Noctus said:
Try a few shots with a defiler. If you are lucky enough to get a hit, his HQ is going to suffer.
Absolutley on the money, one decent shot with a defiler and you rid yourself of the entire retinue.

He is clearly cheating like mad, I suspect he has combined the living saint with this to explain how he can regenerate, but personnaly I would adopt an attitude of dissinterest and scream "liar liar pants on fire" at him a lot
 

·
Pure Venom.
Joined
·
1,306 Posts
As well as using cheredanine's excellent tactic, also keep in mind that if he's knocking off acolytes without a save, and you cause more wounds than there are acolytes to take the wounds, they will carry over onto the inquisitor or other members of the unit and they won't get saves. So if you overwhelm them with boltgun or plasma gun shots - ouch.

LoC
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top