Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
No Life King
2,819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ALright, I'm new to Tyranids and all, so I've been looking around on LO and nobody talks about spore mines and biovores. Are they a banned topic or just so worthless that nobody says anything regarding them? I looked for something to act as fire support and biovores seemed worthwhile since they have a nice 4' range and their bio-acid mines allow for them to take out vehicles or infantry as needed. Also the barrage pinning seemed nice as I'm trying to field an assault army and forcing some enemies to sit around and wait for my gaunt swarms seemed nice. Any advice on this idea?

·
Registered
301 Posts
Biovores are not a taboo chioce - just not the most popular. They work best in units of 3 (a loan one is not worth the points not that you can deepstrike spormines). They are best armed with bio-acid mines for good anti tank/armour shooting.
They are certainly a good choice for fire support (I need another 2 before I can really start to use them)

·
It's a Trap!
1,750 Posts
Okay, here is the deal. Spore mines are actually a very decent FA choice. They can cause a very large amount of destruction for a small number of points comparatively. For instance, landing them on the backs on tanks is very harmful to said tank and if you get a decent scatter, with 3 of them, you should hit something and possibly kill it.