Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
Im pretty new to warhammer, a mate introduced me and told me a bit about it not too long ago, and it seems like a pretty awesome game. I might be starting an army soon, and was pretty interested in an Eldar army.
Im really interested to hear your thoughts about which units would be the best to start with, if the battleforce is ok etc etc

thanks all

·
Registered
433 Posts
First of all, please feel free to read a number of the posts on units and army builds here in the forum. There is a lot more than any of us can spit out in a single thread to be had on this. The battleforce can be good to build an initial force with, but you will end up with about half of the models that you won't use once you get your army running the way you want it. Kind of seems like a waste.

Some basic questions you need to answer, and it would help us to help you:
What kind of army are you looking to play? Foot slogging infantry, or armored company?
How many points are you looking at playing?

As a basis, of course, you need a minimum of 2 troop choices:
A low point unit to get Wave Serpents is your Dire Avengers.
Your Guardians are your foot slogging infantry that can get some heavy weapons (may also want to take a Wave Serpent with these).
Jetbikes are great in squads of 3 for objective grabbing.
Rangers are good snipers.

You will definitely want to invest in War Walkers (Scatter Laser and Brightlance or Starcannon builds are the best).
Your HQ should be a Farseer or Spiritseer. Spiritseer mainly if you are looking at taking Wraithguard.

Other fast and hard hitting units you may want to look at:
Fire Dragons are excellent at tank killing and can eliminate some troops relatively easy (put them in a Wave Serpent).
Warp Spiders are another fast and hard hitting unit that work on foot.