Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont think I quite found it but I know that Synapse Creatures are immune to
instant death, but what then? If the creature has an invulnerable save does it
use that or the normal one? If it doesnt have a inv. save then just that save?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Weapons that cause Instant Death do not necessarily disallow saves. If the weapon's AP or some other property about it (such as Power Weapons) defeats the save, then only invulnerable saves are allowed.
 

·
señor brushman!
Joined
·
1,434 Posts
If the creature has an invulnerable save does it
use that or the normal one? If it doesnt have a inv. save then just that save?
You pick what save you want to take although you can't take a normal save if the AP of the weapon is equal to or lower then the units save.

If it doesn't have a inv. save, then you take your normal save unless it is negated by things like power weapons, power fists, AP is equal to or lower then your save, etc.

I hope that was clear,
Ben

Edit: Darn you beat me to it Ostsol :tongue:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Still seem fuzzy. What im saying is if a weapon that causes instant death (define that fully please) to a synapse creature without an invulnerable save, does it get to use its save or what.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
As said earlier instant death ONLY comes into effect AFTER you have failed your save, normal or invulnerable. Here's the order of when things happen:


1. You get shot and wounded
2. If the weapon's AP is worse than your armor save, take your armor save
3. If you only have an invulnerable save or the weapon's AP is better than your armor save, take your invulnerable save.
4. If you failed your save (armor or invulnerable) AND the weapon's STR is at least TWICE your TOUGHNESS you are dead no matter how many wounds you have.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
382 Posts
Commissar_Malevich said:
Still seem fuzzy. What im saying is if a weapon that causes instant death (define that fully please) to a synapse creature without an invulnerable save, does it get to use its save or what.
Ok...here we go
A T** ____ (Str-10 AP-1) Blasts my Warrior. He usually would not have to roll anything because the Warriors toughness is 4 and armor is 5. Even if the gun was a Str-8 AP-5 he would still not have to roll to wound because the str of the weapon is DOUBLE the toughness of the victim. That is how instant kill works.

Well that T** ___ (Str-10 AP-1) still needs to roll to wound my Warrior because he is infact under synapse. I won't get a armor save for this because of the AP-1. But if I had an inv. save I could take that to avoid Instant kills. The advantage to being immune to instant kills vs. such high powered weapons is slight...but he could roll a 1 to wound when all he needs to roll is a 2.

The str. vs. toughness for instant kills does not effect saves. You still go by AP vs. Armor saves for it.
 

·
Now with STFU flames!
Joined
·
5,917 Posts
Loestal - you last post confuses me a little bit. You use the word "Wound" in couple of different contexes.

Do you mean to say that if that Str 10, AP 1 weapon were to hit a toughness 4 model (Non-synapse), the gun owner would not have to roll to wound? Or did you mean to say that after the gun owner hit the model, he'd still need to roll to wound (which will always be on a 2+) and then you check for instant death?

The reason I ask is because how I'm reading your post, you seem to be a bit confused on how the Instant Kill works. For instance, should a Lascannon hit a Space Marine Commander, if that Lascannon doesn't roll a 2+ on the "To Wound" check then the Commander will live.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Loestal said:
Ok...here we go
A T** ____ (Str-10 AP-1) Blasts my Warrior. He usually would not have to roll anything because the Warriors toughness is 4 and armor is 5. Even if the gun was a Str-8 AP-5 he would still not have to roll to wound because the str of the weapon is DOUBLE the toughness of the victim. That is how instant kill works.

QUOTE]


-- not quite

instant kill takes all the wounds a creature has at once, but the attacker will still always have to roll to wound and on a 1 nothing happens. Even a guardsman could survive a lascannon shot in theory.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top