Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whats the 'standard' method of employing tactical squads? I'm guessing that it has something to do with rhinos and the occasional HQ choice leading a squad, but i want to get a feel for what the most common use for them is. And this is for your average marine army, blood angels and spacewolves need not respond, i already know your answers...

For the record this is a sort of intelligence gathering sessions for me, i only feild scouts (and how many times have i said that now?) so in all honesty I'm looking for what to expect from your typical marine player and then looking for ways to defeat them with scouts.

Thus far a rhino rushing tac-squads forward tends to be lethal, i know it depends on specifics of each game but it feels like if you don't get the jump on them, then they will get you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
581 Posts
The whole idea behind tactical squads is that they can do just about anything. They are armed with medium range weapons so they're going to want to engage in firefights at under 24". Beyond that usually if you look at the squad's special weapon you can get an idea of what it will be used for.
 

·
Lord of the Household
Joined
·
1,733 Posts
Hmm... I dunno... Never thought of this before...

IMO I believe swarming could be a way to go... Your scouts cost less than a tactical marine so you can afford more...

Maybe that's an idea... I dunno...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
581 Posts
Thus far a rhino rushing tac-squads forward tends to be lethal, i know it depends on specifics of each game but it feels like if you don't get the jump on them, then they will get you.
I would suggest setting up a two line defense. Have the first line in difficult terrain in cover (with several inches of difficult terrain between your opponent and you). This will slow down their advance and if they do not have frag grenades you will hit first in hth. (and I believe with the new hth rules they will have to think more carefully about shooting or assaulting instead of doing both and tearing you up) Then have a second line with your reinforced squads (the one's with veteran sergeants with power weapons, and led by the command squad in the Razorback with that captain of yours...), which can counter charge. This second line could be a little more off to the sides so you can come in from their flanks and get more people into base to base. Your shooty squads (the sniper squads with autocannons and stuff) would be in various advantageous firing positions to pick off advancing troops.

Beyond that I would say just keep your squads big and don't be afraid to tool up your sargeants with vet. status and power weapons (which I know you aren't, but I figured I would throw it in). And if worst comes to worst, you could always get a Grey Knights terminator squad and keep them in reserve to teleport in when things go south... :twisted:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
295 Posts
nope... only sm army I suppose, if u read the daemon hunters codex...

with tac squads, pop them in rhinos, then disembark b4 ur foe's turn, or else they can't assault right? Block LOS with ur rhino, next turn, go with them, shoot and assault!

As far as I know, Gray knights terms aren't out yet, and they cost a fortune... ;(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,575 Posts
They're out already (at least at my local shop) but as you said can't be taken as allies for another SM army. As for defending against rhino-rushing, use the cover and difficult terrain like LRseries said. Hopefully he won't make it to h2h, and then you can charge him in turn with some close combat scouts. Who cares if your armour is a little less strong, the rest is equal plus you get 3 attacks per model (scouts with bp+ccw charging)! What I do with my IW troops squads (those similar to tac squads that is) is either hold back a little or move forward to get within rapid fire range (only against armies weak in assault), I then shoot with bolters and a heavy bolter, plus sometimes a plasma gun. They're for softening up the enemy a little before the big guns knock him out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
295 Posts
Grey knights terms

They're out already (at least at my local shop) but as you said can't be taken as allies for another SM army.
wish I were in the UK... :evil:

allies for another SM army? or do u mean other army?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
485 Posts
but as you said can't be taken as allies for another SM army.
When I read the codex I was under impression that you could field GK in a SM army as allies, but not have inducted SM in a Daemonhunter Army if you Field GK.

The only place I have seen this thing is in the rules for inducted SM, and there is no rules saying you can't field SM and GK together when using DH as allies to an imperial army (the box on page 21)

Besides take a look at the army example picture on page 33, it shows a Ultramarine army with GK
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
581 Posts
When I read the codex I was under impression that you could field GK in a SM army as allies, but not have inducted SM in a Daemonhunter Army if you Field GK.

The only place I have seen this thing is in the rules for inducted SM, and there is no rules saying you can't field SM and GK together when using DH as allies to an imperial army (the box on page 21)

Besides take a look at the army example picture on page 33, it shows a Ultramarine army with GK
You are exactly right. You can also have Grey Knights in a Sisters of Battle army or in an Imperial Gaurd army. You can't take inducted Space Marines (or Gaurd) as Demon Hunters allied with your army, though. For example I could not take an inducted Armored Fist squad as a Demon Hunter ally to my Blood Angels Army and you couldn't take a SM tac squad as a Demon Hunter ally with your Sisters army. But rtsposer (and any other Imperial player) would be well within the rules taking a Grey Knights Squad, Terminator Squad, and/or Teleport Squad as part of their army, as lont as tehy don't use them to fulfill required slots.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
295 Posts
Confusing...

You can't take inducted Space Marines (or Gaurd) as Demon Hunters allied with your army, though. For example I could not take an inducted Armored Fist squad as a Demon Hunter ally to my Blood Angels Army and you couldn't take a SM tac squad as a Demon Hunter ally with your Sisters army. But rtsposer (and any other Imperial player) would be well within the rules taking a Grey Knights Squad, Terminator Squad, and/or Teleport Squad as part of their army, as lont as tehy don't use them to fulfill required slots.
Now it's getting confusing.. what do u mean by fulfilling required slots?

and also, armored fist squad? isn't that a SM chapter?
And with this, do u mean that a SM army can take IG stuff too? *happened in the latest battle report from the latest WD*

8O 8O 8O
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
581 Posts
No. A Demon Hunter's force is allowed to take "inducted" IG and SM (generic SM, not special ones such as BA or Wolves that have special rules) units (not any units, there is a list of which they are allowed to take). The idea is that the inquisitor has commandeered some IG or called upon some debt of honor that a SM chapter owes him. If the Demon Hunters army has Grey Knights they cannot take inducted SM.

You can also take Demon Hunter units as part of a IG, SM (regardless of chapter), or Sisters of Battle army. If this is the case then you cannot have the Demon Hunters induct a SM or IG unit and take it in your army. For example: If I had a Demon Hunters army I could induct an IG Armored Fist Squad (an infantry squad in a Chimera) into my Demon Hunters army. However, if I took Demon Hunters as part of my Blood Angels army, I could not have those Demon Hunters induct an IG Armored Fist squad and take it because I am using a BA army, not a Demon Hunters army. Thus Demon Hunters can induct non-Demon Hunters troops when they are their own army but not when they are simply allies for another army. Get it?

By fulfilling required slots, I meant that if you were playing, say, a standard mission where you are required to have at least 2 troops choices, and using a Dark Angels army, you could not take 1 DA scout squad and one Grey Knights Squad (in power armor) and say they fulfill your 2 troops requirements because the Grey Knights, as Demon Hunters in a non-Demon Hunters army, do not count towards the required minimum of a certain troop type, even though they do still count as a troops choice. Still make sense?

BTW: I have not seen the latest WD so I don't know what you are talking about, but Demon Hunters do have their own Storm Troopers (called Inquisitorial Storm Troopers I believe). These are not inducted IG but are actual Inquisitorial troops used to do things like man outposts and so forth. Thus if you had a SM army taking some Demon Hunter allies, you could take Inquisitorial Storm Troopers just as you could take Grey Knights, as you would be taking them from teh Demon Hunters army list not from the IG army list and they would not be inducted IG. If you can describe the circumstances of having the IG in the SM army in the WD I could probably explain it better.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
295 Posts
Oh.. now I get it..

IN the latest WD demon hunters used storm troops, and therefor I wondered if SM could use IG troops...
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top