Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had no idea where to stick this, as it falls into a couple of different forums, so by all means if this is better suited elsewhere, excuse my ignorance and place it in its proper place.

I am new to the hobby, myself an a friend decided to get into it after many discussions of the 40k novels turning to how much we would like to do it; well we finally picked up our stones, covered our eyes and threw some money around like we had it in spades.

O.K., I am exaggerating a bit, we both used our wits and managed to get into the hobby without breaking ourselves. But like many others I imagine, we do not have tons of cash to throw at this and want to get the most out of what we have for as little as possible.

While we both work slowly, bit by bit at our armies of choice, the topic of things like scenery come up. Now, being a pretty heavy lurker of this (and other) forums, I have picked up a few things along the way. Here is a simple solution to a scenery problem I came up with this evening in a conversation with my friend: Boxes.

Yeah, that's not exciting at all.

This idea is probably no where near new, but it is simple. Take some boxes of whatever size you like, cut them up a bit for a ruined effect, add windows and such, then just give them a good spray with some cheap spray paint. You could go further and add in details, but the idea here is cheap, easy, and fast terrain. The boxes also have the benefit of being easily moved around.

Then I came across a product by Krylon, called "Make It Stone". I immediately thought this would be a great addition to the box idea. Anyone have any experience with this product and how it works?