Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am completely new to the world of 40k. I have bought the rule book and read it thru once and also the DE codex. I have one question that may seem real stupid to all you experienced players. It is in regards to the squad in a raider. I have seen in a previous forum that the squad can shoot independently from the raider. My question is in the deployment of the squad. If I move my raider up and then get the squad out. Is the raider then a separate vehicle that can operate independently from the squad? If they are separate then my thinking is the squad can disembark the raider and operate independently and then the raider can be used to shoot or moved in front of an oncoming squad and block them. IS this at all correct or am I completely screwed up.

All of the rules are very new and confusing to me, since I do not have an army to play with yet. I am working on my first troop models now and hope to be on the field of play this summer. Thanks in advance for any help to the newbie!

·
Registered
2,490 Posts
At no point do the squad have to stay with the raider or do what the raider does. They operate completely independently from it apart from when embarked in the vehicle, in which case they move "in" it but are still free to shoot at different targets if they so desire.

Good luck with your new army! I hope you find DE as fun and as challenging to play with as I did when I first started 40k, the learning curve is pretty steep, but once you get good with DE you'll find moving to other armies so much easier to play with and start doing SO much better.

·
Scourge Lord
1,638 Posts
The key concept here is that the transport is always treated as it's own unit, even if it is dedicated to a squad of guys (which just means it doesn't take up a slot on the Force Organization Chart).

Welcome to the DE and 40K! I hope you know what you're getting yourself into. ;)