What Chapter Approved is this? Sounds to me like an old 3rd Edition rule. In the new 4th Edition codex, you can no longer do that.drexelshafter said:But in the Chapter Aprroved, it says that the Guards could join the Carnifexes. Could I start the Guards on the Hive Tyrant, then slide them over to the fexes?
I think it mentions in the 4th ed codex (at work and can't double-check) that tyrant guards can be joined by other TMCs, but can never be joined to more then 1 TMC at a time, and also stated that the tyrant could leave the guards. So you could buy them with a Tyrant, then during play move them to guard a fex instead if you like. Like when a regen fex needs a shield to buy time to actually regen.drexelshafter said:Yep, sorry. Looks like I have my hands on a 3rd Edition CA. Thanks guys.
Really? That the HT is not an independent character 'overrides' the description of the guard as 'retinue'? So the situation is more like a marine squad with a veteran sergeant?Ostsol said:Yeah, Tyranid MCs aren't Independant Characters. This is, in a way, good because a Tyrant can't be picked out in close combat if he's with his Guard.
Well, the function of the Guard is to prevent him from being picked out by shooting due to being a Monstrous Creature - there is no mention of the Tyrant being an Independant Character.andrewthotep said:Really? That the HT is not an independent character 'overrides' the description of the guard as 'retinue'? So the situation is more like a marine squad with a veteran sergeant?
Yes - I can think of one other place where this anamoly shows up. The Space Wolves codex has two special characters that can have a retinue of bodyguards, but don't count as Independant Characters.andrewthotep said:Are there any other cases of non-independent characters with retinues?
That must suck when the rentinue is killed off but the character remains, since it will always remain a viable target.Caluin said:Yes - I can think of one other place where this anamoly shows up. The Space Wolves codex has two special characters that can have a retinue of bodyguards, but don't count as Independant Characters.
Totally. 15 points per wound is the same cost as reinforced chitin (I know tyrants can't get that) except you can take a total of 9 of them (3 guards). Not too shabby in CC if they ever get there and an excellent wall of protection for a shooty tyrant.Laplace said:The biggest plus about the Tyrant guard is that it essentially gives the Hive Tyrant 3 more wounds at a decent save for a decent price because they can't be instant killed,