Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
LO Zealot
1,082 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am playing a 1750 point list versus space marines Most likely black templars.

Search and Destroy Mission.

I have NO knowledge of black templars. . . .

1.) Should I open a wraithgate near my enemy, and engage him in an en mass assault?

2.) I forget, it states that wraithgate units coming out, count as coming from reserves, so when they step out of the gate, which of the following is true?
--- A.) They can't move,but they can only shoot and Assault.
--- B.) They can move, shoot, and assault like normal
--- C.) They can move, shoot, and assault, but they count as already moving, and unable to fire heavy weapons. (I.E. Dark reapers coming out of the gate, cannot shoot.)

hmm pretty much all i need to be answered at the moment..

once i get some more information, i'll post my list up.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Black Templars are pretty strong in CC, but they tend to be low numbers, and there's those damnable Emperor's champion and ubiquitous Crusader to deal with.

1 depends very much on what you have in your list. The mass-assault tactic of USF would work best against the Templars as, well, a MASS assault. Do not underestimate the effectiveness of 20 Black Storm Guardians with an Enhanced Warlock on the charge. That's 63 attacks on the charge, all hitting before the marines. So what if they're wounding on 5s, that is going to do more than enough damage to backup that seer council, spear of khaine and Banshees or Scorpions as they dive in. While you COULD go for massed starcannon death, I'd lean more toward the former with Templars.

As for 2, C is the correct one. As with regular reserves deployment, they must move onto the table.

·
Favored of Tzeentch
3,140 Posts
Black Templars are tricky... make sure you bring your Spear of Khaine and Banshees!