Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't seen verry many army lists w/ Rippers as a main Troop choice, and being a novice I'm just not sure if it's because they suck, or because there hard to get in any large amounts. The reason I am wondering is because I am planning an army (see army lists: Hive Fleet Enjambre) that calls for 41 Ripper bases w/ 3 Rippers to a base. Before I start to collect my rippers I want to know if they suck.

·
438 Posts
Depends what you want to use them as. If I recall, they can't capture table quarters, which is a downside, but they don't require synapse, which is a plus. They die horribly to Strength 6+ hits, but are perhaps the cheapest wounds in the 40K universe to soak up anything less with. Great for tieing up enemies in melee most of the time. Easy way to hold foes in place while the CC-fex moves up. Well, provided you're not fighting the Grey Knights anyway. I think most don't use them because they're fairly slow by default compared to most 'nids so they don't always fit in a list very well. and by the time you upgrade them, you could field 3 spineguants for a single point more. Which would be faster, more durable, and include some shooting, though slightly less effective in melee without the leaping ability's 4" range and also in need of synapse.

I'm building a 'zilla list that uses them as primary troops in conjunction with small broods of spineguants for controlling table quarters, but the main difficulty I keep running into is the pain of getting the models. And forgeworld ones are only good if you're not planning to upgrade the rippers any or feel like a good bit of conversion. So that leaves me buying boxes of guants and warriors on ebay since it's cheaper then bits ordering the sprues from GW directly.