This is something that I've been mulling over for quite some time, it's to do with the alignment of the Chaos General and how that relates to the choice of units, both those with actual marks and those without. I may take some time to explain this, but that's only because I want to be as clear as possible with this question, here goes...
If you look on page 55 of the Hordes of Chaos book, the section about 'The Chaos General' explains the rules about having a marked general or an Undivided general. It goes on to say this:
'If your General has the Mark of Khorne, Nurgle, Slaanesh or Tzeentch, then other characters and units in the army may only have the same Mark (or have no Mark at all and be Chaos Undivided).'
My first question is thus;
Models with the actual Mark of Chaos Undivided (like chaos warriors) are, obviously, Undivided. But, does the bracketed part of the above quoted rule mean that units without any actual mark (like marauders) are also Chaos Undivided?
I wonder, because fluff-wise and paint-job-wise, chaos marauders can be anything you want them to be, the pictures in the Hordes book from page 75 onwards show marauders that are quite clearly aligned to a specific god, although obviously it's only for effect and they don't benefit from any extra rules associated with marked units.
My second question is as follows;
The second bullet point of The Chaos General' (pg55), it says that if your general is Undivided, even though you can mix other Marks freely, you may only give a mark to a character if the army also contains a unit (except for spawn) or chariot with the same mark.
Clearly if an army consists of mainly Undivided models, but with one Khorne champion, then there must also be a unit that has the Mark of Khorne (or else 'belongs' to Khorne, ie. Bloodletters). However, since it says 'give a mark', does that therefore exempt Undivided characters from the 'one marked character, one same marked unit' rule? Would the following example army be legal?;
First Example Army
Lord of Chaos (Mark of Undivided)
Exalted champion (Mark of Undivided)
Sorcerer (Mark of Undivided)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Nurgle)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Tzeentch)
Chaos Knights (Mark of Khorne)
Bloodletters
Daemonettes
Spawn
I've always assumed the rule is there to represent the warbands or followers of each character within the army. As you can see, there are no Undivided units in the first example army, so does that mean that it's illegal? If Undivided characters are not exempt, is this second example army legal?;
Second Example Army
Lord of Chaos (Mark of Undivided)
Exalted champion (Mark of Undivided)
Sorcerer (Mark of Undivided)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Nurgle)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Tzeentch)
Chaos Knights (Mark of Khorne)
Marauder Infantry
Marauder Infantry
Marauder Horsemen
Spawn
In this army, do the marauders count as the Undivided units for the Undivided characters? Or, would the marked Warriors and Knights have to be exchanged for units of Warriors and Knights with the actual Mark of Undivided?
Finally, in an army led by Crom the Conqueror, units of Marauders can gain the actual Mark of Undivided and the rules associated with that Mark. Does that mean they weren't Undivided to start with?! :huh: I'll stop now before I start to confuse not only myself, but also everyone else as well!...
If you look on page 55 of the Hordes of Chaos book, the section about 'The Chaos General' explains the rules about having a marked general or an Undivided general. It goes on to say this:
'If your General has the Mark of Khorne, Nurgle, Slaanesh or Tzeentch, then other characters and units in the army may only have the same Mark (or have no Mark at all and be Chaos Undivided).'
My first question is thus;
Models with the actual Mark of Chaos Undivided (like chaos warriors) are, obviously, Undivided. But, does the bracketed part of the above quoted rule mean that units without any actual mark (like marauders) are also Chaos Undivided?
I wonder, because fluff-wise and paint-job-wise, chaos marauders can be anything you want them to be, the pictures in the Hordes book from page 75 onwards show marauders that are quite clearly aligned to a specific god, although obviously it's only for effect and they don't benefit from any extra rules associated with marked units.
My second question is as follows;
The second bullet point of The Chaos General' (pg55), it says that if your general is Undivided, even though you can mix other Marks freely, you may only give a mark to a character if the army also contains a unit (except for spawn) or chariot with the same mark.
Clearly if an army consists of mainly Undivided models, but with one Khorne champion, then there must also be a unit that has the Mark of Khorne (or else 'belongs' to Khorne, ie. Bloodletters). However, since it says 'give a mark', does that therefore exempt Undivided characters from the 'one marked character, one same marked unit' rule? Would the following example army be legal?;
First Example Army
Lord of Chaos (Mark of Undivided)
Exalted champion (Mark of Undivided)
Sorcerer (Mark of Undivided)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Nurgle)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Tzeentch)
Chaos Knights (Mark of Khorne)
Bloodletters
Daemonettes
Spawn
I've always assumed the rule is there to represent the warbands or followers of each character within the army. As you can see, there are no Undivided units in the first example army, so does that mean that it's illegal? If Undivided characters are not exempt, is this second example army legal?;
Second Example Army
Lord of Chaos (Mark of Undivided)
Exalted champion (Mark of Undivided)
Sorcerer (Mark of Undivided)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Nurgle)
Chaos Warriors (Mark of Tzeentch)
Chaos Knights (Mark of Khorne)
Marauder Infantry
Marauder Infantry
Marauder Horsemen
Spawn
In this army, do the marauders count as the Undivided units for the Undivided characters? Or, would the marked Warriors and Knights have to be exchanged for units of Warriors and Knights with the actual Mark of Undivided?
Finally, in an army led by Crom the Conqueror, units of Marauders can gain the actual Mark of Undivided and the rules associated with that Mark. Does that mean they weren't Undivided to start with?! :huh: I'll stop now before I start to confuse not only myself, but also everyone else as well!...