Ok back to basics. I am asking this question because of something I saw on t'internet recently, picture this in your minds eye.
The player in question (I shall call him Ed) has a Razorback (RZ) set up on his long board edge. The RZ is set up with its side armour flush to the board edge with the front armour facing right.
.
(1)Ed's first turn and he checks line of sight for the RZ.
(2)Pivots RZ about 85 degrees so its front ends up facing the opposite board edge but its rear armour ends up forward at least ÂĽ inch from the boarded edge. I am 100% certain the tread of the left hand track should have been touching the board edge
Ok let me explain the rules of vehicle movement as I see them. Vehicles turn by pivoting around their central point (page 57 BRB ), this means that in this case the vehicle must end up with its rear facing touching the board edge after it pivots, if it does not have its rear armour touching the board edge then the vehicle has moved.
It could be plainly seen that the vehicle had been “moved” away from the board edge, hence it moved. So we either have an illegal pivot move or a move.
So lets look at the rules for vehicle movement. It says a that only pivots is not classed as moving; however to be classed as pivoting the vehicle must only spin around its central axis. A vehicle pivoting when butted up against a board edge must end its pivot move with a part of it touching the board edge. If it ends up a quarter inch away it has not pivoted, it has moved. Ok now to the next part of the move.
(4) Ed Checks LOS again
(5) Next Ed Moves the Razor a good 1” to 1 ½” to left (is that is classed as a move?), then proceeds to pivot the model another 90 degrees so it is facing right (frontal armour).
Again I re-iterate the pivot rules. You can only pivot on the SPOT, the RZ moved a full inch minimum to the left, which is not pivoting. By this stage the vehicle has moved twice.
[FONT="](6) Moves RZ sideways about 2 inches to final position, no pivot just a sideways shift
Now when a vehicle is moved it can move up to whatever distance it is eligible to move and can pivot as many times as the player pleases. The vehicle can move backwards and forwards as many times as you like up to its maximum allowable move allowance.
As far as I am aware moving a vehicle sideways without pivoting is not allowed. The rules state that vehicles turn by pivoting and that is the only way a vehicle can move to an area of the field to its side. So in the case above we have:
(a) an illegal pivot move
(b) illegal sideways moves
We now come to what constitutes a move or to be clearer, when does a move end? Let me clarify what I mean here. If I did the move above I would have pivoted the RZ to the direction of movement and then moved it to its final position and the move ends. if I wanted to change direction within the allowable move distance, I would pivot and then move.
In the example above the first pivot ended up with the vehicle a good quarter inch away from the board edge, hence it is either:
(a) an illegal pivot move
(b) the RZ moved
If it is (a) then the move was illegal because the vehicle has to pivot legally to gain its movement direction and then move.
If it is (b) then it moved illegally because you cannot change facing direction by moving, you can only change direction by pivoting.
So basically the move/pivot was illegal.
next we have the sideways moves, now the first sideways move was not a slight shift but a full inch to inch and a half movement to the left. So by this time Ed has gained a 1/4 inch forward movement and a full 1/1/2 sideways movement (to gain better LOS I might add).
Sideways movement is not allowed under the rules, to move to the side and end up facing the same way you started you would have to:
(a) Pivot to face left (usually with front armour)
(b) Move to the left whatever distance you require
(c) Pivot to face the direction your frontal AV started facing
This would take more than an inch to inch and a half of movement.
So Ed now makes his last move move but again he move the vehicle sideways. Now that was just the start of the dubious play. What I want to know is what would you have done if you were faced by the above?
[/FONT]
The player in question (I shall call him Ed) has a Razorback (RZ) set up on his long board edge. The RZ is set up with its side armour flush to the board edge with the front armour facing right.
.
(1)Ed's first turn and he checks line of sight for the RZ.
(2)Pivots RZ about 85 degrees so its front ends up facing the opposite board edge but its rear armour ends up forward at least ÂĽ inch from the boarded edge. I am 100% certain the tread of the left hand track should have been touching the board edge
Ok let me explain the rules of vehicle movement as I see them. Vehicles turn by pivoting around their central point (page 57 BRB ), this means that in this case the vehicle must end up with its rear facing touching the board edge after it pivots, if it does not have its rear armour touching the board edge then the vehicle has moved.
It could be plainly seen that the vehicle had been “moved” away from the board edge, hence it moved. So we either have an illegal pivot move or a move.
So lets look at the rules for vehicle movement. It says a that only pivots is not classed as moving; however to be classed as pivoting the vehicle must only spin around its central axis. A vehicle pivoting when butted up against a board edge must end its pivot move with a part of it touching the board edge. If it ends up a quarter inch away it has not pivoted, it has moved. Ok now to the next part of the move.
(4) Ed Checks LOS again
(5) Next Ed Moves the Razor a good 1” to 1 ½” to left (is that is classed as a move?), then proceeds to pivot the model another 90 degrees so it is facing right (frontal armour).
Again I re-iterate the pivot rules. You can only pivot on the SPOT, the RZ moved a full inch minimum to the left, which is not pivoting. By this stage the vehicle has moved twice.
[FONT="](6) Moves RZ sideways about 2 inches to final position, no pivot just a sideways shift
Now when a vehicle is moved it can move up to whatever distance it is eligible to move and can pivot as many times as the player pleases. The vehicle can move backwards and forwards as many times as you like up to its maximum allowable move allowance.
As far as I am aware moving a vehicle sideways without pivoting is not allowed. The rules state that vehicles turn by pivoting and that is the only way a vehicle can move to an area of the field to its side. So in the case above we have:
(a) an illegal pivot move
(b) illegal sideways moves
We now come to what constitutes a move or to be clearer, when does a move end? Let me clarify what I mean here. If I did the move above I would have pivoted the RZ to the direction of movement and then moved it to its final position and the move ends. if I wanted to change direction within the allowable move distance, I would pivot and then move.
In the example above the first pivot ended up with the vehicle a good quarter inch away from the board edge, hence it is either:
(a) an illegal pivot move
(b) the RZ moved
If it is (a) then the move was illegal because the vehicle has to pivot legally to gain its movement direction and then move.
If it is (b) then it moved illegally because you cannot change facing direction by moving, you can only change direction by pivoting.
So basically the move/pivot was illegal.
next we have the sideways moves, now the first sideways move was not a slight shift but a full inch to inch and a half movement to the left. So by this time Ed has gained a 1/4 inch forward movement and a full 1/1/2 sideways movement (to gain better LOS I might add).
Sideways movement is not allowed under the rules, to move to the side and end up facing the same way you started you would have to:
(a) Pivot to face left (usually with front armour)
(b) Move to the left whatever distance you require
(c) Pivot to face the direction your frontal AV started facing
This would take more than an inch to inch and a half of movement.
So Ed now makes his last move move but again he move the vehicle sideways. Now that was just the start of the dubious play. What I want to know is what would you have done if you were faced by the above?
[/FONT]