Librarium Online Forums banner

Can Daemons Take Magic Items?

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  The bearded one  
#1 ·
Simple Question, all the other armies can take magic items from the main rulebook but Daemons don't seem to have the option. Can Daemons take magic items from the main rulebook? The FAQ and Errata for the daemons book seems to indicate yes but how do they work and which ones. This brings up another question in my mind. Which items can be taken by any army? All rulebooks have lists of common magic items (except Daemons). Are these the only ones that can be used or can all of them. So can I have a Greater Damon carry a folding fortress or a dispel scroll in addition to their daemonic gifts or not?

Thanks,
Aounfather
 
#3 ·
Ok thanks, the reason I was asking was because I saw in the FAQ that a flail would add +2 Strength in the first round of combat to a GUO with the balesword. I forgot that he came with a flail and was trying to figure out how you could buy a flail for a daemon. Nevermind my idiocy.

Thanks,
Aounfather
 
#4 ·
What makes you think that they can't use the standard magic items from the main book. There is nithing that I can see in the army book, the rule book or on the GW FAQ pages that says they can't. So long as use use the standard rule, that if there is an equivilent item in your army book you pay the army book points but use the rules from the main book then you should be ok.
 
#6 ·
Pretty much what he said.

Yes. The Daemons of Chaos has access to the common magic items list. However, there are no units allowed to take them. =P
 
#7 ·
Furrie, while that is true, if you read the first paragraph in the main rulebook regarding selecting magic items it says "...we shal examin the magic items that are commonly used by all races." The important word there is all.

As such magical creatures why would they not have access to the same "basic" magical items as every other race?
 
#8 ·
Did you read my post at all? Please find me a unit in the Daemons of Chaos Army Rule Book it says it may take magic items from the Common Magic Item List. I'm looking through it right now, and it's stated rather clearly what each unit can take and I can't find a single entry that can take common magic items.
 
#9 ·
Dwarfs can't take common magic items either. In the armybooks of armies that can take common items (all of them except daemons and dwarfs) it says with certain units/characters that they can pick "x points worth of magic items", which allows them to choose that number of points maximum worth of common magic items and their own magic items. Daemons and dwarfs do not have that. Instead they have an allowance for daemonic gifts, and for runic items.